Skip to content
Skip to content

IANA Scholarship Program

Over the past ten years, IANA has awarded more than $1.8 million to support students in university programs focused on freight transportation. The eight undergraduate schools currently receiving scholarship awards are the College of Charleston, Georgia Southern University, the University of Maryland, SUNY Maritime College, the University of North Florida, the University of North Texas, Old Dominion University and the University of Wisconsin-Superior. The Transportation Institute at the University of Denver is the only graduate degree awardee.

Schools selected to receive scholarship awards exemplify the following:

  • Strengthen Intermodal Freight Management Development Efforts
  • Further Growth of the Intermodal Freight Industry and of IANA Member Companies
  • Increase Understanding and Support within the Academic Community of Intermodal Freight Transportation Needs
  • Provide Full Time Undergraduate, Graduate and/or Continuing Executive Education Programs that Focus on Delivery of Transportation and Logistics Services vs. Retail Supply Chain System Design
  • Build and Foster IANA Relationships with the Academic Community
  • Provide Student Intern Programs and Strengthen IANA Members’ Future Management Recruitment Efforts

The Scholarship Award Program seeks to progress the education of the intermodal freight transportation industry’s next generation of leaders and managers by providing students with opportunities to attend the Intermodal EXPO, take study trips to intermodal infrastructure sites across the U.S., participate in academic case competitions, interact with transportation executives, and conduct intermodal freight research.

Back to Top