Intermodal Safety Committee


The Intermodal Safety Committee is responsible for research, data collection, analysis, reporting and fostering adoption of specific operational practices between intermodal transportation stakeholders to address issues relating to safety. Focus areas include, but are not limited to, the safe operation of intermodal facilities and equipment. Also included in committee deliberations are regulatory and compliance issues and how they affect safety and intermodal operations.

Committee Goals:

  • Foster a culture of safety in the intermodal community though the sharing of information and recommended practices.
  • Collect intermodal safety mishap data, identify trends, and report results to the IANA membership.
  • Produce an annual intermodal industry safety update that provides insights into the frequency, types and results of container vessel, on-terminal, roadway and railway safety mishaps.
  • Research and benchmark industry safety practices and training materials that can best be used to improve situational awareness and reduce intermodal related mishap activity.
  • Develop innovative and clearly understood intermodal safety practices.
  • Socialize the importance of shared and common intermodal safety practices for intermodal operations through education and awareness promotion.
  • Assist members with enhancing regulatory knowledge and compliance.

Current Leadership


Jason Hunt
Georgia Ports Authority 


Alan Tyson
C & K Trucking, LLC


Bert Mayo
TrueNorth Companies


Donna Lemm 
IMC Companies

Next Meeting

In-Person, Wednesday, May 10, 2023, 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM CST
Operations, Safety & Maintenance Business Meeting, Oak Brook, Illinois
See the agenda.

Previous Meeting

Friday, February 17, 2023, 1:00pm EST

View Presentations

  • Intermodal Safety Committee presentation from the February 17, 2023 meeting.
  • Intermodal Safety Committee presentation from the September 12, 2022 meeting.
  • FMC Commissioner Carl W. Bentzel’s Maritime Transportation Data Initiative (MTDI) Preliminary Recommendations Presentation to the Joint Committee Education Session on September 12, 2022.


  • Minutes from the September 12, 2022 meeting.
  • Minutes from the May 3, 2022 meeting.
  • Minutes from the February 18, 2022 meeting.
  • Minutes from the September 12, 2021 meeting.

Task Force

Terminal Traffic Safety Task Force

Leader: Jason Hunt, Georgia Ports Authority & Collin McNamara, TrueNorth Companies

The Terminal Traffic Safety Task Force seeks to create increased engagement and industry alignment among Intermodal facilities leading to innovative methods to proactively identify and mitigate hazards. This effort will decrease accidents, damage and injury caused by terminal traffic safety issues related to moving vehicles and equipment. This engagement and alignment will encourage all facility stakeholders who operate on terminals to improve their focus on operating safely and utilize unique ideas and recommendations provided by the IANA Safety Committee.

Download Charter

View Roster

Working Groups

Safety Analytics and Data

Leader: Collin McNamara, TrueNorth Companies